History

old_church_pic Friendship Church is very rich in history.  The Methodist congregation began in our community in 1785.  A small chapel was constructed following preaching visits by the circuit riders coming south from Baltimore.  In 1835 when the old church became too small to comfortably accommodate the people who attended worship services, a new brick church was built using a quantity of clay available at the site where it was to be constructed.  This same church from 1835 is the present sanctuary of Friendship today!

During 1950-1960, Friendship expanded its’ buildings with a narthex, education building and fellowshiphall.  The parsonage was built by church members in 1990. Recent additions include an expanded parking lot, a custom-made pipe organ, a playground and new office/meeting space.  A major building project completed in 2014 included the renovation of the education building and fellowship hall.

During 1950-1960, Friendship expanded its’ buildings with a narthex, education building and fellowship hall.  The parsonage was built by church members in 1990.  Recent additions include an expanded parking lot, a custom-made pipe organ, a playground and new office/meeting space.  A major building project completed in 2014 included the renovation of the education building and fellowship hall.

Friendship is proud of its’ heritage, from the beautiful stained glass memorial windows to the historic cemetery to our Emmanuel Bell which continues to peal her call to worship each Sunday morning from the new bell house.

We invite you to visit with us, and review our church history showcase located in our Fellowship Hall.

Sunday Worship Schedule

Early Service (Praise Music) 8:30 - 9:30am
Sunday School 9:45 - 10:45am
Late Service (Traditional Music) 11:00 - 12:00pm